Good morning?

Mornings

Love them or hate them?

I looove mornings! Love!

I think deep down I’ve always been a morning person. Sure, as a teenager or as a late-night/early-morning partying 20-something I wouldn’t exactly jump out of bed at sunrise, but I think I’ve always felt that the mornings are my most productive and happiest time of day.

Benjamin Franklin wrote: “Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.”, and I’m sure that rings true for many, it certainly does for me. I think…hmm…maybe not, I’m not ‘wealthy’ and I’m not to sure about ‘wise’, but hey, you can’t have it all, haha!
But the mornings are when I’m most alert, present and able to focus. Later on in the day so many other things grab my attention away from what I actually set out to do. Like writing this blog. I just can’t focus as well later on in the day.

So morning person or evening person? Or ‘Lark’ and ’Night Owl’ as modern scientist tend to call these two groups.

I think every (wo)man for her/himself have to figure out where they belong on the ‘lark’ vs ‘night owl’ spectrum. If you do feel like getting up early is what would make you happier and more productive, but you’re not quite there yet, then read a few books or articles to help you get there. I have read my fare share of ‘self help’ books and needed a while to figure out when a good time for me to get up is and tap in to the real lark in me.
Getting up early feels more natural to me. If I stay in be later than 7am I feel like half the day has passed and therefore my window of productiveness.

My dad was a true lark and I remember one time when I was about 16, he woke me up at 7.30am on a Saturday morning during one of my weekends at his house, saying: “Anna, are you going to sleep all day?!”
I finally understand him! Ha!
I didn’t then of course, and as a teenager I certainly needed more sleep than I do now. As all teenagers do.

I can’t wait for the day our boys starts sleeping in!
Imagine all the things I could get done if I didn’t have to worry about the boys first thing! I could get on with my stuff and by the time they’re up I’m all done!

But both our boys are ‘larks’
Although Joshua tends to stay in his room, he’s usually up by 6-7am.
Harry wakes up really early, usually comes in to our bed sometime between 3-5am and hopefully goes back to sleep. Now this is a problem, because I get up at 5am every morning, 6am on a weekend. And if Harry is in our bed he wants cuddles, lots and lots of cuddles. I do cuddle him for a while before I declare my intention of getting out of bed and usually he’s fine with it and he turns to cuddle Richard instead, provided he’s there. But I do feel bad for leaving him.
I leave hoping that Harry will to go back to sleep and wake up at about 6.30, but that doesn’t always happen.
I try to make up for my lack of morning cuddles by giving him plenty of cuddles during the day and when i put him to bed, but I have to admit it’s really hard to leave a warm, cosy bed when it’s still dark out. Summer time is a bit easier.

So what do I do in the morning, I hear you ask?
Well it depends.

I used to get up early to go for a run. Not every day but a few times a week and I used to feel so much better for it.
I can’t run anymore because of my dodgy knee, but sometimes I have a workout or go for a walk. On the weekend I usually get up early to go for a walk while I listen to a podcast, or I do yoga.

Now I’ve set up a pretty good routine of getting up at 5am on a weekday and here’s what I usually do:

I make myself some green tea
I meditate
I write in my Journal and I plan my day a head.
I write this blog.
I read, a non-fiction book or an inspirational article.
I put some laundry on
I chuck the bread that’s been proving over night in the oven so it’s ready for (the boys)breakfast.

Most importantly, I start my day gently. I don’t have to rush around. When I’ve had some time to do my things, I feel set and ready to start my day. At 6.30 I get myself ready, make breakfast, pack lunches, help the boys get dressed etc.

I know some people my read this and think “5AM?! But thats insanely early! I could never do that”
I’m not saying you should. Every one is different and this works for me.
Lately Richard has been getting up a bit earlier than usual just to get in to work an hour early and get on with his work before the hustle and the bustle of the day sets in, and he feels so much better and less stressed for it. Maybe you can have think about your own morning routine. Could you set you alarm a little earlier and get a head start, or to simply not having to rush?

If you need any tips I’m more than happy to help, or if you have any comments I’m happy to hear them.

Good morning!
xx

One thought on “Good morning?

Leave a Reply

