Patience

patience-yoda

I love to grow and get out of my comfort zone. Sure it can be scary and I get very anxious (just ask my husband, ha), but I still do it.
Why?
Because thats how we grow as people.

So I joined a Crossfit gym (or “Box” as it’s called) here in town.
Was that out of my comfort zone?
You betcha!

For you who don’t know what Crossfit is, you can find out more here.

It is basically a workout programme that focuses on constantly varying functional movements at a high intensity. It’s attempting to improve at the 10 fitness domains:
Cardiovascular endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, speed, power, coordination, agility, balance and accuracy.
It is performed in small groups with a qualified Crossfit coach. Every day is different, there’s a WOD (Workout Of the Day) which can be scaled back to suit any ability and fitness level.
Crossfit is HARD, but so much fun!

Anyway. On the wall in the Crossfit box there’s a poster where it says “Leave Your Ego At The Door”

Leave your ego at the door. Strive for progress, not showing off.

I love that!

Saying that, I struggle to leave my ego at the door.

Anyone who knows me knows I struggle with patience. Always have. Once I’ve made up my mind about something I would prefer it to be done yesterday.
I’ve never been patient, but I’m working on it and I think I’m getting better.

But I still struggle.

I’ve been lifting weight for years and I thought I was getting along ok. But then I joined Crossfit and boy, is that a humbling experience! I’m improving my technique on all my lifts and learning new ones.
It’s fun, but oh so challenging.
Especially since I have been scaling back a lot on weight training since injuring my knee. The past six months I have been lifting only light-ish weights and been very careful with the exercises I do so I don’t compromise my healing process or risk hurting myself even more.
So one would think that its only natural that I need to start with fairly light weights especially when learning new lifts.
I know this.

But I still struggle to leave my ego at the door.
I want to add weights on now. I want to improve now, not over the next 12 weeks. Or year!
I know, I know. Patience

And it’s not because I want to be as good or a strong as everyone else, or better. I don’t really care what everyone else does. This is my fight with myself.

I’m being told by other cross fitters and coaches that it takes time.
Be patient.
But still I struggle. I want to be able to do it.
I’m starting to think that my knee injury is a blessing in disguise because it’s forcing me to be extra careful. I would hate if I injured myself again.

I am more patient than I use to be though. Now I can admit this to myself and try to reason with myself when I get impatient.
I am a work in progress.
Progress not perfection.
I am working on leaving my ego at the door.

xx

Leave a Reply

