We were on a break!

 

we-were-on-a-break

I was on a break from wine.

Mmm… wine…

Any one who knows me knows I like my wine.
I’m not a big drinker. (not the grown up me. I’m not talking about my twenty-something, partying self. Thats a whole other story)

I very rarely drink anything stronger than wine and I seldom have more than a glass or two a couple of times a week at the most.

Although at our christmas party last year I, for some reason, thought it might be a good idea to drink vodka (??!) I didn’t have much, but I got a little tipsy and had the worst hangover the day after! Never again!

I do however enjoy wine and am not willing to give that up. Not completely.

But,

A few times a year I have a ‘white’ month when I don’t drink any alcohol.
I do it to give my body a break.
Even though I drink moderately and within a ‘healthy’ range, it is still good to give my body a chance to recover completely.
Not to mention the psychological effect of not having the option of a glass of wine at the end of the day to ‘relax’.

Alcohol is not slimming. It contains 7kcal/ gram, (compared to fat which has 9 kcal/gram, protein and carbohydrates have 4 kcal/gram each). But it’s not only the calories that are the problem. The body can not store alcohol, unlike fat, protein and carbohydrates, which means that the body prioritises getting rid of the alcohol first and puts everything else on hold, like absorbing nutrients and burning fat.

So, every few months I give my body a rest.
In the lead up to that ‘white’ month I do wonder how ever I will manage a whole month without my wine. The first weekend is always the hardest and I miss having a glass with dinner.

But then as time passes I don’t even consider it anymore.
It’s a ‘non-issue’. I stop thinking about it.
I don’t dream of the day when I can enjoy a glass again. But as the month comes to an end, I do look forward to that first sip, and I enjoy it immensely.

Richard and I decided to have a ‘white’ September this year. It’s easier when you can do it together with your partner.
Not only to give our bodies a break, but also to save a little bit of money now that we’ve bought a house. Not that we spend a huge amount on alcohol, but every penny counts…

It went really well. Like I’d predicted, the first weekend was the hardest, but then it ran smoothly. It’s almost easier to not have the option of alcohol, than to have to plan around it. Not to have to worry about who will be driving when we go out. And not have the option of a glass after a really stressful day.
Alcohol doesn’t exist.

But I don’t think I’d like to do it forever. There’s no reason a healthy person, such as myself, can’t enjoy a glass of wine every now and then.

September went so well for Richard and myself that we decided to stretch it through October as well. In total we went 63 days. But then, on Saturday we decided that we’d been very good but enough is enough. And even though technically we cheated by three days, we’d done good. 9 weeks isn’t bad.

img_5666-1
First sip in 9 weeks. It was lovely I can tell you.

 

So, wine and I are not on a break anymore. We have a very healthy relationship. Absence makes the heart and tastebuds grow fonder, and I can tell you that that first sip was delicious.

Could you take a break from alcohol? If you don’t think you could, then you absolutely should. Even if you drink within ‘moderation’.
If you think you could but don’t think you ‘need to’ because you don’t drink ‘that much’, try it anyway.
Prove to yourself that you can. Your body will thank you for it.

xx

Leave a Reply

