So now we have moved

I’ve been off the blogging radar for a while. I haven’t written a word, I have barely read a thing, and I’ve been itching to go back to it. But, sometimes, life happens. In our case, we have moved house.

Moving is a big thing for anybody, especially if there’s more than one of you. We are four in our family. Four very different people who all handle it differently. My other half has enjoyed the chaos and the planning. He described it as having all these puzzle pieces that he now had to put back together, and his ADHD brain enjoyed and thrived with that challenge. I, on the other hand, hate living in a mess. For a month or so it’s been chaotic and messy. An endless task of boxes to go through or pack. What to keep, what to throw? Endless trips to the skip. Then redecorating and furniture building in our new house. Not to mention that our usual life still took place parallel to all this, with appointments, parents evening, school, and homework to get through. To say that I’ve been stressed is an understatement! Everything that could wait had to, like training and writing. I’ve missed it, but it was only for a short time while everything was crazy around us.

It’s been stressful for the boys. The move in it self was stressful and took some getting used to, and not only do we now live in a new home but we’ve had to find a new routine since Harry no longer is eligible for transport to school, which means I have to do the school run with both boys. Harry has struggled a bit with this, he misses his taxi and the friends he made on it.

Harry made it very clear to us that he didn’t want to move. Slowly we’ve been working on him, and by working, I mean bribing, haha! We told him we’d let him have the Wii in his new room. His new room is much bigger than his old one and plenty of space for the Wii. He was keen on the idea and loves playing on it now that it’s in his room,  but at the same time he also now miss the old house, his old room and the familiarity. I guess it will take a while for him to adjust.

I’m from Sweden, a country where moving house, (and selling and buying) is a fairly straight forward and quick process. I, of course, did not realise this until I moved here to the UK where its a whole other ballgame! It’s a process that takes time and effort and is very, very complicated. I won’t go in to details, because that would be far to boring, but I am very thankful that my husband did most of the hard work involved.

We bought this house, or should I say, had our offer excepted in the beginning of August. We moved in the beginning of January. And we only just found out our moving day a couple of days before christmas! Needless to say, our christmas wasn’t as relaxed as it usually is.

Our boys knew about us moving for a long time. In fact, they saw the house a few times in the early days after we had put in the offer, but this has been such a long process I believe they started to doubt whether or not it would actually happen at all. I too started to wonder the same thing. It felt like a myth. Something we heard about but never really knew if it was real or not.

Fast forward to December and all what that month entails, and it became very real. In fact, I sat on Christmas Eve ordering our new kitchen appliances. Not the most relaxing christmas.

Its been a stressful time, but now I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. We’re all moved in, and there might be a few more things to do, pictures to put up, a shelf here and there, but we’ve settled in and are very happy in our new home. I feel like I can finally take a deep breath and relax.

xx

 

 

One thought on “So now we have moved

Leave a Reply

