I think I’m old enough now

As I wrote last week, we have recently moved. Let me tell ya, I am so glad that’s over! I hate moving! But I love our new house, so it’s all good now.

We rented our old house and the contract ended in the beginning of February. So we’ve had a months over lap which was great! It gave us time to get the place in order before moving in. I spent a week redecorating, and another three days building IKEA furniture. I build three beds in two days! Not bad, huh?

So we bought a few things in IKEA. This was tricky for me. Not because it’s IKEA, I love IKEA and it certainly has its place, but because I am so fed up with living ‘temporarily’. My husband and I have moved ten times in 15 years. We have moved country twice. We have rented three houses since moving to the UK the second time. All this is very expensive and complicated. Every move required some new furniture, but we didn’t want to buy nice things that might fit in a room in a house where we might only live for a year. We’ve stored things that haven’t fitted in to our then house. Things that have then been damaged. Things have been damaged by being taken apart and put together again several times.

When we lived in our apartment in Stockholm, which we bought after moving back there from the UK in 2004, we bought this lovely, huge, U-shaped sofa. It which fitted perfectly in our massive living room. Then a couple of years later we moved to a house with a slightly smaller living room and we had to take a section of the sofa of, to make it L-shaped. When we moved to England, the living room in the house was even smaller and we had to take another section off making it just a straight I-shape. We always joked about our poor sofa that got smaller and smaller with every move.

And it was like that with every piece furniture. A kitchen table that didn’t fit in in that house, a coffee table that was to big. Rooms to small for a double bed, and so on.

But we didn’t want to keep buying new, nice, expensive things when we didn’t know how long we would actually live in a place and if it was worth investing, both financially and emotionally. We were always aiming to buy our own house eventually, but as I’ve written about before, life doesn’t always turn out the way we plan and it took longer than we had anticipated. We did buy a flat shortly after moving back to the UK, but it was a step for us to get on the property ladder. We knew it was temporary and that we eventually would want and need to move to something bigger. But a couple of years after living there, the property prices had fallen and we couldn’t afford to sell. So we sub letted the flat, and then sold it a few years later. Again, it was not straight forward, took ages, and it put us off buying again!

Fast forward to last year and we felt ready. We wanted our own place and we were in a financial place where we could afford to buy.

So eight years (!!!) after moving back to the UK we finally have a place were we can not only call our own, but where we can stay until we’re old and grey.

So this is why I didn’t want to go to IKEA. At least not for all our furniture. Finally, we don’t have to buy things ‘temporarily’. We can buy things we actually want and can invest in because we are not going anywhere.

But unfortunately, money also plays a role, doesn’t it?  And we had quite a lot of new furniture to buy; all of us needed new beds for example, and the house has almost no storage which meant buying wardrobes as well. Did I mention we needed a new fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dining furniture?

So Richard and I planed and budgeted. I found a lovely kitchen table and chairs that I just fell in love with, but was out of our price range.

But here’s the thing, I also feel that I am to old now to only buy cheep, convenient stuff. I want nice things too. There’s just a certain point in life when I find myself to old for some things. Not that I’m that old, but just to old not to be entitled. Entitled to actually buy a piece of furniture that will last. Entitled not to feel that my life is ‘on hold’ because we’re only living someplace temporarily. I’ve had enough. I want to build on what we have, not feel like everything is on ‘pause’. We’re in this house now. And like I said, for the first time in close to a decade we can finally stop and enjoy our lives without worrying about where we’re going next.

So we compromised. We bought the beds and a few other things in IKEA, hence two days of bed building, and also bought the nice dining furniture. This table and I will grow old together.

img_5992
I love you!

xx

 

3 thoughts on “I think I’m old enough now

Leave a Reply

